The Imitation Game’ Outplays Competition to Win USC Libraries Scripter Award

Graham Moore and Andrew Hodges take the 27th-anniversary honor.

Screenwriter Graham Moore and author Andrew Hodges received the 27th-annual USC Libraries Scripter Award for “The Imitation Game.” Selection committee chair Howard Rodman announced the winners at the black-tie event on Saturday, Jan. 31, at USC’s historic Doheny Memorial Library.

Moore based his adaptation on “Alan Turing: The Enigma,” a 1983 biography by Hodges of the brilliant British World War II code-breaker and computer pioneer who was later persecuted for his homosexuality. Rodman accepted the award on behalf of Hodges, who teaches mathematics at Oxford University’s Wadham College.

“Alan Turing never got to stand on a stage and hear people applaud his name,” Moore said in his acceptance speech. “And I do right now, and that is a profound injustice. All that I can do is spend the rest of my life endeavoring to repair it.”

“The Imitation Game’s” Scripter win adds to the accolades for the Weinstein Co. film, which has been nominated for eight Academy Awards and eight BAFTAs.

Scripter, established by the Friends of the USC Libraries in 1988, honors the screenwriter of the year’s most accomplished cinematic adaptation as well as the author of the written work upon which the screenplay is based. Scripter is the only award of its kind that recognizes authors of the original work alongside the adapting screenwriters.

USC Libraries Dean Catherine Quinlan welcomed the attendees gathered in the Los Angeles Times Reference Room of Doheny Memorial Library, and noted that the proceeds from the night’s event benefited the USC Cinematic Arts Library.

“Our Cinematic Arts Library is a tangible embodiment of cinema history and of the cultural history of the world,” Quinlan said. “It connects our students and scholars from near and far with knowledge that exists nowhere else but here, knowledge that makes possible their discoveries in the art, craft, and business of making films.”

Chaired by USC screenwriting professor and vice president of the Writers Guild of America, West, Howard Rodman, the Scripter selection committee chose “The Imitation Game” from a field of 97 eligible films.

Rodman also presented writer Walter Mosley with the Literary Achievement Award for his prizewinning career encompassing a range of genres from mystery to science fiction, erotica to nonfiction.

Mosley, a native of Southern California, has set much of his work there, including his “Easy” Rawlins series that features a black detective working in post-war Los Angeles. He is currently working on a Broadway version of his first novel, “Devil in a Blue Dress,” which was adapted in 1995 into a film starring Denzel Washington.

“In one stroke, Walter stood the crime genre on its head,” Rodman said. “And in doing so, over the course of a 25-year career, has triumphantly turned the world 180 degrees.”

In receiving the award, Mosley credited libraries for their central role in guaranteeing intellectual freedom and a civil society, “By making libraries stronger we make America stronger.”

This year’s event featured a silent auction, the proceeds of which support the renovation of USC’s Cinematic Arts Library. In-kind donors to the event and auction included AOC, Actuant Corporation, Al Brooks Tickets, Alexander Denk, Allison Adato, Alma Books Ltd., American Eye Institute, Anchor Distilling Company, Ann Hill, Anthony Solorzano, At Your Side Private Exercise, Averill's Flathead Lake Lodge, Bacara Resort & Spa, Badgley Mischka, BENJAMIN with Negin Zand, Bennett Farms, Bonny Doon Vineyard, Bouchon Bistro, Broadway Books, Burton Morris, Carol Muske-Dukes, Carol Soucek King, Richard King, Chris Lahti, Christine Ofiesh, Cynthia Baseman, Daryle Ann and Mark Giardino, David Lebovitz, David St. John, Del Mar Thoroughbred Club and the San Diego County Fair, Faith & Flower, Feld Entertainment, Final Draft, Focus Features, Fox Searchlight, Fred Kayne, Gearys Beverly Hills, Geffen Playhouse, Glenn Sonnenberg, Gloria Kaplan, Hang Zhang, Hayley Kaplan, Health Allie, Hector Aguilar, Hotel Del Coronado, Hotel Indigo Del Mar, Hotel Kabuki, Howard Rodman, Jack Lindquist, Jar, Joel Prell, Jon Summers, Katherine Schwarzenegger, Kenneth Breisch, KFK Jewelers, LA Contemporary Dance Company, LA Opera, LA Phil, LACMA, Laila Lalami, Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Laura Casner, Left Brain Travel, Leo Braudy, Lisa Barkett, Lisa Dixon, Loews Regency Hotel, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Dodgers, M. Kantor & Associates, Mark Danielewski, Mark Koenig, Matthew Kenney Cuisine, Maureen Furniss, Michael Kheshvadjian, Motif Seattle and Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails, Myrna Oken and Montage Hotels & Resorts, Neal Baseman and Twentieth Century Fox Television, Oheka Castle Hotel & Estate, Oliverio at Avalon Hotel, One of A Kind Glass Designs and Patsy Dewey, Osteria Mozza, Pacific Dining Car, Penguin Books, Piel Skin Care, Porta Via, Pro SUP Shop, Richelle Gribble, Robert Plumleigh, Sandra Tsing Loh, Save Our Heritage Organization (SOHO) San Diego, Seattle Seahawks, Shelley Berman, Silver King, South Beverly Grill, St. Regis San Francisco, Stephen's Hay and Grain, Steven Travers, T.C. Boyle, Tank Town USA, Ted Ushirogata and the Academy of Magical Arts, Inc., The Belvedere at the Peninsula Hotel, The Fearey Group, The Kitchen for Exploring Foods, The Rosenzweig Company, The Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts, The Weinstein Company, U.S. Senator Dean Heller, United Artists Media Group, USC Athletics, USC Office of the President, Villa Aurora, Warner Bros. Pictures, Will Ferrell, Wilshire Center Dental Group, and Wine of the Month Club.