Austin, TX-Monday, September 23, 2013- Fantastic Fest is pleased to announce this year's Fantastic Fest Award winners. It has been an outstanding year for features & shorts, making the job of honoring a select crop all the more difficult, but our esteemed team of jurors have done the nearly impossible and chosen the best films of the festival.

The audience awards are presented by accounting firm Maxwell Locke & Ritter (http://www.mlrpc.com/) who provided the certified tabulation of ballots this year and are the exclusive accounting sponsor of Fantastic Fest. Dell Precision is the presenter of the prestigious "Next Wave" Award, which honors emerging filmmakers. The winners of the "Next Wave" feature awards are presented with a new Dell Precision M6800 Covet mobile workstation with AMD FireProâ„¢ M6100 graphics. The Fantastic Corpse short film premiered prior to the presentation of the "Next Wave" awards. Dell and AMD worked with creative content company Arts + Labor to bring five filmmakers to create one short film, each filming an equal part.

AUDIENCE AWARD (Presented by Maxwell Locke & Ritter)

Jodorowsky's Dune (director Frank Pavich)


Best Picture: The Dirties (director Matt Johnson)

Best Director: Oren Carmi (Goldberg and Eisenberg)

Best Screenplay: James Byrkit (Coherence)

Best Actor: Yorick van Wageningen (The Resurrection Of A Bastard)

Best Actress: Swantje Kohlhof (Nothing Bad Can Happen)


Best Picture: The Congress (director Ari Folman)

Best Director: David Perrault (Our Heroes Died Tonight)

Best Screenplay: Ari Folman (The Congress)

Best Actor: Svein André Hofsø Myhre (Detective Downs)

Best Actress: Robin Wright (The Congress)


Best Picture: Afflicted (directors Derek Lee and Clif Prowse)

Best Screenplay: Derek Lee and Clif Prowse (Afflicted)

Best Director: Derek Lee and Clif Prowse (Afflicted)

Best Actor: Jason David Brown (Septic Man)

Best Actress: Julia Garner (We Are What We Are)


Best Picture: Why Don't You Play In Hell (director Sion Sono)

Best Director: Sion Sono (Why Don't You Play In Hell)

Best Screenplay: Kankurô Kudô (Maruyama The Middle Schooler)

Best Actor: Fuku Suzuki (Kid's Police)

Best Actress: Qi Shu (Journey To the West: Conquering The Demon)


Best Picture: Jodorowsky's Dune (director Frank Pavich)

Best Director: Shaul Schwarz (Narco Cultura)


Winner: Remember Me (director Jean-François Asselin)

Runner-up: Perfect Drug (director Toon Aerts)


Winner: Beasts In The Real World (director Sol Friedman)

Runner-up: My Pain Is Worse Than Your Pain (director Adam Hall)


Winner: The Sad House (director Sofia Catalina Carrillo Ramírez)

Runner-up:Kick-Heart (director Masaaki Yuasa)


Best In Show: Samurai Gunn (developed by Technopants)

About Fantastic Fest

Fantastic Fest is the largest genre film festival in the U.S., specializing in horror, fantasy, sci-fi, action and just plain fantastic movies from all around the world. In years past the festival has been home to world premieres of FRANKENWEENIE, RED DAWN, PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 3 & 4, THERE WILL BE BLOOD, APOCALYPTO, ZOMBIELAND and RED while the guest roster has included such talent as Tim Burton, Andy and Lana Wachowski, Mel Gibson, Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Ryan Reynolds, Karl Urban, Josh Hartnett, The RZA, Dolph Lundgren, Paul Rudd, Bill Pullman, Paul Thomas Anderson, Kevin Smith, Jon Favreau, George Romero, Darren Aronofsky and Mike Judge. Fantastic Fest also features of world, national and regional premieres new, up and-coming genre films. Fantastic Fest has seen the acquisition of many titles, including BULLHEAD, KILL LIST, MONSTERS, KLOWN, THE FP, PENUMBRA, HERE COMES THE DEVIL, NO REST FOR THE WICKED, VANISHING WAVES, COMBAT GIRLS and I DECLARE WAR. Fantastic Fest is held each year at the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema in Austin, Texas. Alamo Drafthouse has been named the best theater in the country by Entertainment Weekly, Wired and TIME. Variety included Fantastic Fest in a list of "10 Film Festivals We Love," and was also named one of the "25 coolest film festivals" by Moviemaker Magazine.

Our Partners

Presenting Sponsors for Fantastic Fest include Texas' own Shiner Beer, whose family of products will be featured throughout the festival; Fandango, the #1 moviegoer destination and Alamo Drafthouse ticketing partner; Sony 4k, which delivers an immersive theatrical experience with ultra-high resolution digital projection technology; FEARnet, a multi-platform programming service delivering original and acquired horror, thriller, and suspense content as a cable TV network, a video-on-demand service and website; and Arts+Labor, a creative content community whose production studio is home to writers, directors, producers, designers, animators, editors, musicians, sound designers, and developers with a passion for storytelling in every medium.

About Alamo Drafthouse

Alamo Drafthouse is an entertainment brand comprised of the acclaimed cinema-eatery chain, the largest genre film festival in theUnited States and a collectible art gallery. Named "the best theater ever" byTime Magazine, the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema has built a reputation as a movie lover's oasis not only by combining food and drink service with the movie-going experience, but also introducing unique programming and high-profile, star studded special events. Alamo Drafthouse Founder& CEO,Tim League, created Fantastic Fest, a world renowned film festival dubbed "The GeekTelluride" by Variety. Fantastic Fest showcases eight days of offbeat cinema from independents, international filmmakers and major Hollywood studios. The Alamo Drafthouse's collectible art gallery,Mondo, offers breathtaking,original products featuring designs from world- famous artists based on licenses for popular TV and Movie properties including Star Wars, Star Trek & Universal Monsters. The Alamo Drafthouse Cinema is expanding its brand in new and exciting ways,including the launch of Drafthouse Films, a new film distribution label and plans to extend its theaters and unique programming philosophy to additional markets across the United States. More information about Alamo Drafthouse franchise opportunities are available on the official website www.drafthouse.com.