Awards Ceremony to Take Place at the Paramount Theatre on February 12




Los Angeles, CA (December 09, 2014) – As it is about to enter its 25th year of providing screenwriters the industry standard for screenwriting software, Final Draft, Inc. has announced Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski as its Hall of Fame Award honorees for the 10th annual Final Draft Awards. For the past decade, Final Draft has inducted into its Hall of Fame a single screenwriter each year whose body of work has had a profound influence on the industry. To commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Hall of Fame Award, Final Draft will induct a writing team for the first time.


The Final Draft Awards recognize the most influential talent in the industry (Hall of Fame Award), the past year’s writers at the top of their craft (Screenwriters Choice Awards) and aspiring writers (Big Break Screenwriting Contest winners). The ceremony, to be hosted by Thomas Lennon & Robert Ben Garant, will be held on February 12 at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount Pictures Studios lot.


Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski have brought some of the most intriguing public figures to life on the big screen: from Ed Wood to Larry Flynt, from Andy Kaufman to Margaret Keane. Roommates at USC’s School of Cinema, they teamed on the 1990 family film Problem Child and its sequel, going on to work with Tim Burton on the highly acclaimed Ed Wood, for which they were nominated for Best Screenplay by the Writers Guild. They followed with The People vs. Larry Flynt, winning a Golden Globe for Best Screenplay and a special Writers Guild award. Their other films include Man on the MoonScrewedAuto FocusAgent Cody Banks1408, and next summer’s Goosebumps. They wrote the upcoming Big Eyes, directed by Tim Burton and starring Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz, which opens Christmas Day.  Their next project is the 10-hour miniseries American Crime Story: The People v. O.J. Simpson, which starts shooting this spring for FX.


Previous Final Draft Hall of Fame Award winners include Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin, Robert Towne, Stephen J. Cannell, Oliver Stone, Syd Field and Sydney Pollack.


“To commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Final Draft Awards, for the first time we will bestow the Hall of Fame Award upon a writing team – two of the most influential members of the screenwriting community who together have more than a lifetime of experience to offer their fellow writers.” said Marc Madnick, CEO of Final Draft, Inc.  “Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski have taken biographical movies to new heights, whether through drama, comedy or a compelling mixture of both. Their collective body of work serves as an inspiration for all who pursue screenwriting as a profession, and their mentorship to aspiring writers supports the same mission as the Final Draft Awards. ”


Hosting the 10th annual Final Draft Awards will be Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant. They have written nine films together, including Night at the MuseumNight at the Museum: Battle of the SmithsonianBalls of FuryHerbie Fully Loaded and Reno 911!: Miami, as well as the Comedy Central series “Reno 911!” They also co-wrote the best-selling screenwriting book Writing Movies for Fun and Profit.


About Final Draft, Inc.

Final Draft, Inc. has published Final Draft® software – the number-one selling screenwriting application in the world – for nearly 25 years. Having released their 9th version in January, Final Draft software automatically paginates and formats your script to industry standards allowing writers to focus on what they do best – scripting stories. Used by industry giants, like J.J. Abrams, James Cameron, Aaron Sorkin, and more, Final Draft software has become the professional’s choice and the entertainment industry standard. In addition to its flagship software product, Final Draft, Inc. offers other services for writers, like the 15th annual Big Break Contest – a screenwriting contest that launches careers and awards over $80,000 in cash and prizes. In 2012, Final Draft, Inc. launched Final Draft Mobile™; a division focused on bringing screenwriting tools to mobile devices. The Final Draft Reader® app for iPad and iPhone and Final Draft Writer® app for iPad are the first in a series of mobile apps to be brought to market. ?